What it means to care

I’ve been taught that people show who they really are in times of anger. I’ve always kept this in mind. It doesn’t matter how friendly they appear on their good days. If they act selfishly and foolishly on their bad days, that is how I will judge and remember them, for that is who they truly are inside. I am generally a forgiving person, but I never forget. If you disappoint me, I will forgive you. But I will never see you the same way. I will distance myself from you. I will draw the line. I will no longer approach you.

What a fail I have been… carrying this mentality throughout my whole life. How wrongly I have been taught. While listening to a song, I was confronted with what it means to care about someone. I needed to see the other side of the coin. As much as how I need to protect myself from people who do me wrong, I should not only love the people who do me right. From the perspective of the deprived, it is in their times of anger, violence, frustrations and hatred that they need their friends to stay by their side and help them overcome it. The more they hurt me, the more I need to “be there” for them. Because I cannot set boundaries when it comes to caring for a friend. I need to carry through. I need to care enough to bear them. When lost, I need to find them. Because we are all only human. Love your enemies? What enemies? I should have called them my friend all along.

If one day I go insane and betray you all, I hope that you will care enough for me to stay.

I was inspired by the ending of the song “Will you be there” by Michael Jackson

In our darkest hour, in my deepest despair
Will you still care? Will you be there?
In my trials and my tribulations
Through our doubts and frustrations
In my violence, in my turbulence
Through my fear, and my confessions
In my anguish and my pain
Through my joy and my sorrow
In the promise of another tomorrow
I’ll never let you part.
For you are always in my heart.

-R.Kiu

3 thoughts on “What it means to care

  1. when someone is angry, or at another emotional extreme, it only shows what they are capable of, but not who they are. who you are is who you strive to be everyday, whether you succeed or fail, no? thanks for this post. very thoughtful.

  2. @cindylici0us –  Oh what I meant is what the person does when they are angry. Of course, everyone has the right to be angry, but it’s how they are able to control themselves. What is acceptable or not. A very extreme example would be murder.

Leave a Reply

