Almighty God?


In a way, I am truly grateful for everything. But is it God I am thankful for? I want to thank God, but I get a feeling that God isn’t behind absolutely everything. Or rather, I hope He isn’t. Because I would never be able to sustain this faith in him.

Thank you, God, for having me born a healthy baby.
But what about all the others who were born with defects?

Thank you, God, for blessing my life with an education and enough food to eat.
But what about all those living in poverty?

Thank you, God, for keeping me safe in the all the airplane flights.
But what about all the victims who were stuck in a fatal crash?

Thank you, God, for protecting me from the rain outside.
But what about everyone else who got caught in it?

You get my drift? More than feeling grateful, as if God has planned this so carefully for me, I simply feel lucky. And I’m SO thankful for the luck. I can’t imagine him picking out a handful of a lucky few and made them destined to rescue the weak. Why did he pick me to live so comfortably? If God planned our beginnings, he must have planned our ends. So what of the little girls who were kidnapped and raped and murdered?

I have never blamed God for anything. From the disasters around the world, to the deaths of all my loved ones. I can’t blame him because deep down, I believe that he isn’t behind it. It wasn’t his choice. He has no control over our fates. In this way, I am not sincere when I thank him for something I don’t think he has control over. Such as my health, my parents, my countless blessings. I believe in a God that is fair. I can’t imagine a God who deliberately took those away for some. I’d rather suffer with them. He would never sacrifice one person to bless someone else. He only sacrifices himself. From the looks of this world, from the ways of humanity, a God who has total control over everything, would not be a fair God. Luck is the only fair, unbiased chance.

To me, the power of God is in his ability to comfort, to weep. In prayer, I know he listens and he understands. And sometimes I sense him struggling to answer — as if something is stopping him, and more than anyone, He hurts the most. That is where he is almighty to me. Just his love, and the pain he has to endure above all else. He sympathizes with the poor, with the sick, with the broken hearts, not because it was his vision, but because he had no choice but to let it happen. Almighty is He, who after so long, has not forsaken this world of misery, but has kept everyone feeding off his energy.

I feel so grateful in this lifetime for being where I am. My thanks to God is not in the ways he chose to protect me, but in always trying to mend me back together, and passing me his love to one day give to those he couldn’t give to himself. This is what I believe.

Is it wrong?

-R.Kiu
7 thoughts on “

  1. Hi friend. The Most High God is in absolute control of everything. Everything. We can see his wrath and his grace and mercy in operation all around us, all the time. I am the LORD, and there is none else, there is no God beside me: I girded thee, though thou hast not known me: That they may know from the rising of the sun, and from the west, that there is none beside me. I am the LORD, and there is none else. I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the LORD do all these things. (Isaiah 45:5-7)Surely your turning of things upside down shall be esteemed as the potter’s clay: for shall the work say of him that made it, He made me not? or shall the thing framed say of him that framed it, He had no understanding? (Isaiah 29:16)It applies to nations…The word which came to Jeremiah from the LORD, saying, Arise, and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause thee to hear my words. Then I went down to the potter’s house, and, behold, he wrought a work on the wheels. And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter: so he made it again another vessel, as seemed good to the potter to make it. Then the word of the LORD came to me, saying, O house of Israel, cannot I do with you as this potter? saith the LORD. Behold, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are ye in mine hand, O house of Israel. (Jeremiah 18:1-6)It applies to individuals…Nay but, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed it, Why hast thou made me thus? Hath not the potter power over the clay, of the same lump to make one vessel unto honour, and another unto dishonour? What if God, willing to shew his wrath, and to make his power known, endured with much longsuffering the vessels of wrath fitted to destruction: And that he might make known the riches of his glory on the vessels of mercy, which he had afore prepared unto glory, (Romans 9:20-23)He is worthy of all praise, and GREATLY TO BE FEARED. Until we realize how fearsome he truly is, we can not even begin to understand anything else correctly.The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom: a good understanding have all they that do his commandments: his praise endureth for ever. (Psalms 111:10)Peace to you, friend

  2. This is an interesting post. There is a reason for everything. I was born disabled and yes I have asked God why because I didn’t wanna accept it, but as I got older I understood that we all are different for a reason. I also learned not to question God and just be grateful to be here at all. I used to believe that God couldn’t be behind all evil things, but God is and does everything. He still is a loving Father though. Things happen so that we learn from them and reach out to others as well. God Bless!     

  3. And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong. (2 Corinthians 12:9-10)

  4. @AOK4WAY –  If the words of the bible could convince me, I wouldn’t be struggling so much being a Christian. I believe in a God — is it the God in the Bible? I hope so. But I have trouble believing that the Bible is really the word of God, or the word of the God I believe in.

Leave a Reply

