My body. My training.


I went for my vaccinations check yesterday, and while in the waiting room, I looked through my vaccinations booklet (pretty much for the first time). My booklet was filled! I wasn’t aware that I had taken so many shots as a baby and had done so many tests.  Imagine all the children out there whom have not gotten these vaccines. And still, I get those yearly colds and flues (which I have always survived). So year after year, my immunity only increases, and is still increasing with every bacterial defeat. I’m just here to say that our health is not granted, nor did it come over night. It’s a work in progress that is both a teamwork between your conscious self and your inner body. Every intake of breath is an exposure to a potential threat that we are trained to overcome. Yes, it is a training, like building muscles at the gym — it takes a heck lot of experience and time. It’s like building a base in Starcraft. For all those who have made groups of battlecruisers, carriers, guardian/devours, and a base filled with defense, you’ll know that it takes time and resources! I feel so proud of my body to have gathered so many units in the game. Remember all those times you have fallen sick and have fought it with a runny nose, soar throat and a fever every time autumn comes around? Well, your body does. We all have started at “vulnerable”, now we are protected. And our protection only gets stronger… until something massive comes.

At the immunization level, our bodies have built up a steady defense at this stage in life. Then there are all the other aspects of knowledge, talents, habits, and even alcohol tolerance. My knowledge of science, vocabulary, religion, even my limited history facts, took a good 20 years to develop up to what I now know. Moreover, my piano skills, musical rhythms, my slow steps at guitar took my willing perseverance to maintain. The comfort at which I drive a car did not happen at a blink of an eye. It took practice. Even my tolerance at spicy food took me a lot of time to adapt. And I cannot forget all the good vegetables, the amount of tea intake and the pills of vitamin C I have swallowed to reassure a solid base.

All this to say: I will not trade my body for any other body. I know it sounds silly… but I will never understand how hard my body is fighting for me, and how far it’s come in its advances. When I look at new born babies and children, I think oh how far they will have to push themselves to learn.. When I reach the age of 30, 40… I don’t think I will ever go back in time to become 20 again (because it’s impossible!), but why would I step backwards and undo another 10, 20 years of work and experience? This is the result of my body that I have come to know and have taken a lifetime to train. With every loss we may encounter, there is always a little gain. Even if we forget what we once knew, it will always be a part of our lives. Life just keeps going forward and we move with it.

Anyways, take care,appreciate yourself and work harder.

-R.Kiu
3 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

