Self-Conscious


I changed my blog layout (again) to something more colourful and less plain, and after seeing the effect of it, I felt like writing another post. So I’m sure a lot people who know me well has heard me saying this, or has noticed this about me. There is something I struggle with, and that is being self-conscious. I know this can either be a good or bad thing, and I guess although I like to “play it safe”, it does get in the way often times when I want to change myself or try something new. I’m not too sure how I became this way because when I was a kid, I was totally carefree. It’s even hard for me to imagine, but I was never shy and I used to dance like nobody is watching. I loved performing and showing off. I was a very confident girl because everywhere I went, no matter who I meet, from immediate to extended families, to family friends.. everyone would say I was a pretty young lady. It was to a point where I knew it myself and I would be disappointed if one of my mom’s friend or distant cousin from out of the town failed to acknowledge my pretty face. Yeeeaaah…arrogant much.. (I think that is also the trigger to my big bully persona, but maybe I’ll talk about that another day).

Everything changed when awkward stage hit. That’s when the nerdy braces came on, the acne appeared all over my forehead and chin and I started to gain some weight. If I wasn’t already self-conscious then, I certainly became so when the people around me started pointing out my ugly traits. My self-esteem dropped and I no longer fought for the spot light. It was a bit traumatizing, to be honest… although I didn’t have it that bad or change that much, to me it still felt like a very dramatic change. From then on, I became super self-conscious and I still am. The hardest thing for me is to improve, especially when it comes to my outer image or things that people can notice. It’s really difficult for me to change how I appear to people, little things like changing hair styles, my clothing style, make-up styles (“what make-up?” you may ask).. I am always too self-conscious to do anything big with myself, even though I am curious in trying new things.

When was the last time I had a new hair cut? Mostly when I go cut my hair, I would tell the hair dresser to “keep the same style, but shorter“. Usually my family members don’t even notice when I cut my hair because it looks the same. But I really don’t enjoy having the same look for years and years, which is exactly the case! I want to do something different, like curl it or cut it short, and even shave it completely. But every time I’m set on doing it, I change my mind and prefer to play it safe. It’s also very hard for me to change my style in what I wear. Although over the years, I have gotten better at accepting things, it’s still a very slow process.This applies to anything I do that makes me stand out from the crowd, like playing a solo on an instrument, or receiving the ball in a sport… I feel like all eyes are on me and certainly when I screw up, which happens a lot, the entire world will see it. And in that sense, I’m slow at improving.

Usually when I really want to wear something new, whether it be styling my hair a certain way, experimenting with make up or clothing, I would do it behind closed doors for awhile until I get comfortable seeing it on myself. Then I would feel confident enough to wear it out in public, and when a friend says to me, “since when do you wear that?”, I would simply reply, “oh, I’ve had this for awhile now; I guess you haven’t seen me in the times I’ve worn it.” Completely the truth! Well all this to say, I feel very insecure on the things I’m not used to doing. In everything I do, I like to prefect it in private so no one can witness my trial and errors. I know it slows me down a lot in life, but it’s something I hope I can overcome….. slowly!

-R.Kiu

3 thoughts on “

  1. + oil :) I feel the same way sometimes. I care too much about people’s opinions. It takes time. I also have the same wardrobe for years now! Every time i go buy some clothes, i tend to play it safe. :T I need to have more self-confidence. =) Good luck to the both of us :)

  2. You shouldn’t be afraid to experience new things, my dear =) Like you said, take it slow until you feel comfortable. I don’t think I told you this before but I used to only wear black clothes in CEGEP. So imagine, for two years, I was just wearing black, with a little bit of white. All my friends thought I was boring… but then I realize that whatever you wear, really does reflect how you feel in that stage of life. People’s opinions should never come first. Your opinion about yourself is what matter the most. =)And I think you’re beautiful with or without makeup. You’re a natural beauty and the way you behave, the clothes you wear and how you style your hair make you who you are. And I love you for who you are.

  3. i didnt even finish reading this post but i just want to say that….. PLEASE MAKE YOUR FRONT A LITTLE BIGGER! if you now what i mean… :)—-Now that I have finish reading…1. i like girls without make-up2. Don’t only dress to impress but dress in clothes that you’re come for table.3. You’re not bad. in fact… i… lol… seriously. you’re fine.FYI: SANDALS FTW! 

Leave a Reply

