1 Year and Counting…

I have officially been with the MAN for 1 year! In this very short time frame, it feels like a long time coming. Not to mention how many months dragged on before we confronted each other, haha! Well more seriously, we accomplished a lot and faster than we expected. Not to be all cheesy and such (maybe) but I think he is a special one and I want to highlight our memories and how much we grew and changed each other. I remember reading this quote many years ago, and at the time it didn’t strike me because I don’t like teenage-love quotes, and this sounds exactly like one. Yet as I got to know him, these words resurfaced and everything he does reminds me of it, which is comforting to me. I don’t always take what I read literally to heart, but this one must have some truth to it, right?

“Find a guy who calls you beautiful instead of hot, who calls you back when you hang up on him, who will lie under the stars and listen to your heartbeat, or will stay awake just to watch you sleep… wait for the boy who kisses your forehead, who wants to show you off to the world when you are in sweats, who holds your hand in front of his friends, who thinks you’re just as pretty without makeup on. One who is constantly reminding you of how much he cares and how lucky his is to have you…. The one who turns to his friends and says, ‘that’s her.’”

He has a bigger influence on me than what I thought possible. He raises my confidence, my motivation and my courage, and he realizes my dreams. I mean it. On our very first day as a couple, I donated blood for the first time. It was something I’ve always wanted to do, but I was too afraid. And over the year, he helped me achieve all the things I’ve missed out in the past. Just to name a few: he accompanied me to Quebec City. Haha, I know it’s stupid but I always had a bit of regret and shame for never visiting. Too bad it was a cold and gloomy day, and nothing worth seeing. It was incomparable to our New York City trip where we had fun at museums. One of our first big night out was during Nuit Blanche where we took our first set of pictures and froze our faces off! We both graduated from our undergraduate degrees. I went to my first Cirque du Soleil show. This was very exciting and a pleasant surprise :) Of course, I can’t forget Broadway’s Beauty and the Beast musical. I started to learn how to cook because of him. One of our favourite things to do when we have a free evening is to cook a nice meal. I must say, most of them were quite successful :) Many might point out that I’ve changed dramatically in appearance… more girly? Okay, I guess I am, hehe. But I am still the same person; we would wake up bright and early Saturday mornings for basketball drills! We had many occasions of overspending on food and wine. We spent countless hours shopping and watching movies. Car washes, red roses. Both our families are very accepting and supportive so we are grateful for that! Last but not least, we are proud of our little good deeds, such as giving cookies to a homeless, and returning a lost iPhone4 we found on the streets. Everyday is an adventure with him and time well-spent, even when it’s just sitting on the couch talking all night. We did encounter a lot of hardships; me and my moody days. Christmas and New Years was a big time low for us. We are currently in a tough situation, but I know this struggle will make us stronger and if we keep on motivating each other, we will pave a way out.

We have a lot planned for our next years ahead! I’m looking forward to what the future holds. As bright as it may seem however, I don’t want to rush through the present. Even with the difficult times, I want to build this up from scratch. I can’t wait to keep on sharing this journey with him. Yes, we are a package deal! <3

IMG_1944

Regi

4 thoughts on “1 Year and Counting…

  1. great to hear from you again, regi, glad that you have such great year and experiences, praying for you and your future, and your study, trust you will have many years of joy and love coming. pastor gum

  2. Hello regi, thank you for sharing! I love the way you said it… How you’ve grown a better person and explore many things together! Many blessings and waiting to hear THE good news one day <3

    In Him,
    Ying ying

  3. WARNING,
    THE FOLLOWING CONTENT MAY CONTAIN CHEESY LANGUAGE THAT SOME VIEWERS MAY FIND DISTURBING.
    VIEWER DISCRETION IS ADVISED.
    .
    .
    .
    .

    Hello PYT ;). Thank you for helping me create all these great memories. Couldn’t have done it without you. It is truly a blessing to have you in my life. The journey has just begun. I promise you that there is much more to come. Stay tune!

    Love always,

    The MAN

Leave a Reply

